Classical Guitar and Shop Update

RDS Guitars and Wood Working

While sanding and doing the final touches on the classical guitar, I changed my mind about the type of finish I am going to put on it. Originally I was just going to do a spray on, water-based lacquer, but I’m honestly not a fan of acoustics having a gloss finish. I have a Taylor acoustic that is a flat finish and I think it is beautiful. Also, even though I have some equipment to do spray finishes I don’t have all the equipment and I just don’t have an adequate spray area. My shop is in my home (for now) and while that is the case I do not want myself or anyone else to have to breathe in spray fumes. I decided this time to experiment with “Tru-oil.” It’s meant for gun stock finishing but I’ve seen quite a few luthiers finish their guitars with this. I have personally…

View original post 190 more words

Leave a Reply

