Winter Interest

carolhughesart

As a Canadian, I have a long and complicated history with winter. Every year I shudder at its arrival, yet I do appreciate some of its virtues.

The snow reflects light when there isn’t much of it, and the cold kills off a lot of pests. The snow covers the mud and forgotten debris of autumn with a beautiful blanket of white.

When the weather gets really, really bad classes and events are cancelled and an unplanned holiday, or “Snow day” is declared, which releases children to frolic in the snow.

Being past my frolicing in snow years, I try to avoid winter dormancy by studying something new during the months spent indoors. I have put my request in to Santa for a big, fat book on painting techniques to keep me happily occupied when it is too dark to paint.

Because I’m an artist who gets quite delirious about…

View original post 96 more words

Leave a Reply

