Soundboard Attachment: Part I

RDS Guitars and Wood Working

This week I finalized the body assembly. The only piece left to assemble (body wise) was the soundboard. I made sure the rest of the body was clean and ready to accept the soundboard. Then, I did a practice dry run as I did with the back to make sure I had enough clamps and that I had them laid out even across the guitar. Once the dry fit was done I lined all the clamps up from top to bottom on one side and then mirrored that on the other side (as shown in the picture below.) I did this because the body is thinner at the top than it is at the bottom and I needed the clamps to be closely sized for their particular spot on the body. When glueing the top (and back for that matter) I learned that the thin glue bead dries fast so…

View original post 58 more words

Leave a Reply

