Live and in Colour

carolhughesart

I have subjected myself to various forms of painting under pressure this summer:  chasing the light outdoors, trying to complete two paintings in one day at my first plein air festival.  This was another.

A recent spell of extreme heat and humidity made it too hot to work outside, so I stopped at a farm market to buy some flowers to paint.  The flowers in the field were drooping, but there were buckets of beautiful gladioli for sale in the shade of a red tent.

I carefully chose a dozen stalks, trying to gather a full spectrum of colour while dodging wasps buzzing around them.  At home I photographed the flowers indoors, but the photos were way too dark.  The blooms would have quickly wilted out in the 40 C degree heat.

Nothing for it but to paint them from life, next morning when the sun would hit my studio. …

View original post 81 more words

Leave a Reply

