My Painted Violin story: it’s finished for the DYAO fundraiser 2013

Very, very nice. Great composition and colors! Thanks for the uplift.

Hue Bliss: Color & Art notes by Karen Gillis Taylor

I received a call in 2012 from someone who had seen my art work at Osmosis Gallery in Niwot, CO. Would I like to contribute a painting for the Denver Young Artists Orchestra? This event highlights and supports Colorado’s premier youth orchestra. (The violins will be auctioned for sale with all proceeds going to the DYAO.)

“Yes! Sign me up!” (My brother, Bob Gillis, is a life-long dedicated musician, and musicians need our support. They are dear to our hearts in their love of music.)

“Great. You will be painting on a violin, and we will ship it to you soon.”

When I opened the case, I was struck by the beauty of this instrument. An Italian, Andrea Amati is credited with inventing the violin in the 1560s, and you can actually see one of his at  the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. When I see talented young people…

View original post 603 more words

Leave a Reply

