Rejection Can be a Creative Catalyst

J. Kretschmer Architect

A few years ago, I entered a single painting into a local juried exhibit and was rejected from the show. I had painted this particular painting specifically to match the theme of the exhibit and was quite put off by not getting in. I’d always been accepted to these local shows before. So this was a new rejection I hadn’t experienced. Honestly, I was angry. I really should not have been. Artists enter exhibits and get rejected all the time. And for the most part, it rarely has anything to do with the quality of their work. In fact, I sold that particular painting just a few weeks later at another venue.

So at a later date when a prospectus for that groups new juried exhibit arrived at my studio, I thought there would be no way I would enter it again. Like a silly child, those same emotions of…

View original post 242 more words

Leave a Reply

